The Lightning Thief

The Lightning Thief (and the whole Percy Jackson series) was always one of my favorite books growing up, so I was so excited to hear that it had been made into a musical (and even more so to read all the glowing reviews that came out of its Off-Broadway run at the Lortel). When the cast recording came out, I bought it immediately and it’s remained one of my favorites since then. Today, The Lightning Thief opens on Broadway, so to celebrate, I wanted to highlight some of my favorite lines from the show, and keep an eye on the podcast to hear our full thoughts in a future episode!

Note: Some songs were omitted because they were primarily dialogue or quotes from the original book.


“Prologue/The Day I Got Expelled”: But is it me, or is Greek mythology not deeply weird?

“Strong”: Why be blah when there’s aquamarine?

“The Minotaur/The Weirdest Dream”: This is weird. Oh look, a strange man in a Hawaiian shirt.

“Another Terrible Day”: ‘Course, who am I to give relationship advice, I’m literally the god of alcohol

“Their Sign”: I know that the future looks blurry, but, not to worry, just do what you can

“Put You in Your Place”: She could capture your heart, I’m gonna c-c-c-c-capture the flag!

“The Campfire Song”: She’s smart and she’s wise, she’s sworn off gluten and she’s sworn off guys

“Good Kid”: And all I need is one last chance to prove I’m good enough for someone

“Killer Quest”: I’m leaving now, I better pack, Hades took my mom, I’m taking her back!

“Lost!”: I don’t wanna die in the garden state!

“My Grand Plan”: Always been a tough girl, ’cause most girls never win if they’re polite

“Drive”: The Oracle can can it, I’ll save my mom and save the planet

“The Tree on the Hill”: And maybe if I’d been a little bit braver, maybe if I stayed behind to fight
But “maybe” doesn’t let me go back and save her. “Maybe” doesn’t make it alright

“D.O.A.”: I ferry the souls of the newly deceased, I got a sweet ride, it was newly leased!

“Son of Poseidon”: So this could be the end, but I ain’t sad.
‘Cause you’re the two best friends this screw-up ever had

“Last Day of Summer”: It’s time to make the world our own, time someone put them in their place

“Bring on the Monsters”: It may feel like an ending, but the battle’s just begun

-Christine

Leave a comment