The Prom

In honor of the recently announced movie and tour of “The Prom,” the show behind one of my favorite cast recordings of this past season, I am beginning a new series called ‘Musical by the Line.’ The purpose of this series is to provide a sneak-peek of the story and lyrical genius of each musical by showcasing just one line (or two, I cheat) from each song. Some lines are witty; some lines are important plot points; and some just make incredible theatre references. Enjoy!


“Changing Lives”: Even the people who are dead inside will shout ‘Bravo!’ on cue

“Changing Lives (Reprise)”: We’re gonna march until that town looks like the end of Act I of Les Mis

“Just Breathe”: There are places where it’s in to be out, Maybe San Francisco or thereabout

“It’s Not About Me”: I understand furious townsfolk, I did Beauty and the Beast

“Dance With You”: Two people swaying slowly, nothing more and nothing less
Why anybody fears that, is anybody’s guess

“The Acceptance Song”: We’re sister and brother, it’s what I learned at Julliard

“You Happened”: Just sad and hopeless – check, double check

“We Look to You”: When the answer to each problem is to burst into a song

“Tonight Belongs to You”: You can borrow all my makeup and the pair of Spanx I currently have on

“Zazz:” If your hands are shaking, just turn ’em into jazz hands

“The Lady’s Improving:” It’s like a fantasy that I don’t want to have

“Love Thy Neighbor”: Let’s hope you don’t masturbate
‘Cause the scripture says we’ll have to cut off your-

“Alyssa Greene”: You’re not yourself, You’re not what she wants, You’re someone in-between

“Barry Is Going to Prom”: So book a white limo, Uncork the Dom
After twenty-nine years I am finally going to prom

“Unruly Heart”: And not having you near me was where I drew the line

“It’s Time to Dance”: All it takes is you and me, and a song

-Cindy

Leave a comment